And the Winner is…

Well I don’t really know if it is a “winner” per say, but we are finally at our last and final step.. Staining!

I have only stained something once and I had to do it twice. The first time I choose a super light stain and did not know what I was doing so I never wiped it off and then it ended up being super greasy and not what I wanted. So I sanded it all down and then chose another stain and that turned out pretty good but that was so long ago, I couldn’t remember what I had done.

So, in searching for some information on how to stain my tables, I found a couple of good Youtube videos.  I find when I like something, I stick to it. So the two really good bloggers that I have found and stayed true to are Ana White and Tru Furniture.  I found this Youtube tutorial from Tru Furniture and it really helped explain things. I did do mine a little bit differently as I had painted the bottom of my tables but the top was pretty similar. I had already filled my holes with paintable wood filler so I did not do that portion of this video as she shows.

First I taped my tables so that I did not get any stain on the parts that were already painted. After I was done doing that, I opened up my stain and just about closed it for the day. I had no idea what the hell was going on. As I said, I have only stained once or twice so I had no idea that there were different kinds of stain. This (I now know) is called gel stain!!

So after I figured this out, I stirred the stain and got things going. I put on one coat and was crossing my fingers that it would work!! To put the coat of stain on, I simply dipped an old rag into the stain and then wiped it off. By the time I was staining the whole table, I went back and wiped off any excess that was able to come off. I made sure I wore gloves so that my hands were not covered in stain but I realized that staining actually is pretty simple.

It was pretty light so I decided to put on another coat and I think it turned out pretty good!

Now all that’s left to do is just put on a top coat and decide what I want to do with these table legs. I am trying to decide if I should leave it gray, paint it white, or do a distressed look like my small tables.

Image may contain: indoor

Image may contain: indoor

Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

